RSS

To be Alone is the saddest thing

08 Mar

To me, the saddest thing in the world is the belief that we are alone.

I go through life with my acquaintances, but in reality, my life is mine alone.

If I wanted, I could make anything happen right now.

I could put my fist through a wall, I could hop on a train and go somewhere new, where no one knows my name and I can get a new identity. But really, it’s all up to me.

I came into this world alone, opening my eyes to all the things the world had set before me.

Day by day, it is my job to make choices for myself and see what the next day has in store for me. Ultimately, no one can influence these choices, because the decisions are mine.

Sometimes I wish there was someone who told me exactly what to do, and that I was some kind of artificial intelligence that just followed along, because it would be easier than making these choices.

Being alone hurts more than anything, and it’s something we all have to go through. I hate that. We all share a universal pain-knowing that ultimately, we’re by ourselves.

No one can ever tell what is running through your head, and there is no lie detection test powerful enough to tell whether or not you are being truthful. We just have to make sure that people can trust us.

Your thoughts are yours, and no one else’s. Your actions can be shared by many others. You can walk down the street with someone and physically, you are not alone, thanks to the person by your side. Mentally, however, you are probably hiding many things from the outside world. Things that may never be unveiled. Things that may never be freed from the mind.

This is what makes us alone. And to me, this is the saddest thing in the world.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in Weirdo Side of Me

 

Leave a Reply

 
